Ohio Senate Committee Assignments




The Correctional Institution Inspection Committee (CIIC) was established through the enactment of Sections 103.71 to 103.74 of the Ohio Revised Code, which became effective on November 9, 1977. The CIIC consists of eight legislators, with four members of the Senate and four members of the House of Representatives, appointed by the President of the Senate and the Speaker of the House of Representatives respectively. Both political parties are equally represented, with two Democrat and two Republican members from the Senate, as well as two each from the House. Committee members themselves select a chairperson and a vice chair. The CIIC may employ a director and other non-legal staff that are necessary for the CIIC to carry out its duties.




The Joint Committee on Agency Rule Review (JCARR) reviews administrative rules proposed by various rule-making bodies, including state agencies, departments, boards and commissions. The committee reviews rules to determine if they exceed the scope of the filing organization's legal authority, conflict with the intent of law, or conflict with another rule of the same agency or a different rule-making agency.
Larry Wolpert, Executive Director




The Joint Education Oversight Committee (JEOC) was created by House Bill 64 of the 131st Ohio General Assembly. The committee consists of five State Senators and five State Representatives. The committee may authorize a plan of work, which will include research, review, study and analysis of current or emerging education policy issues important to the state, as well as the available policy options to address such issues and the available data and research to support such analysis and options. The committee may also select for review and evaluation education programs in school districts, other public schools, and state institutions of higher education that receive state financial assistance in any form. These reviews and evaluations may include: assessment of the uses these entities make of state money they receive, determination of whether an education program meets its intended goals, examination of pilot programs developed and initiated in these entities to determine whether the programs suggest innovative, effective ways to deal with problems that may exist in similar entities. Additionally, the committee may prepare a report of its review.
Lauren Monowar-Jones, Executive Director




The Joint Legislative Ethics Committee (JLEC) is composed of twelve legislative members, six representatives, and six senators equally representing the two major political parties. The committee is required to recommend a code of ethics for legislators and legislative employees, respond to ethics questions by issuing either privately or publicly sought advisory opinions, handle investigations of complaints alleging violations of the Ethics Law and provide forms to legislators for the mandatory financial disclosure reports that they must file. In addition, the Committee may recommend legislation to the General Assembly regarding changes to Ohio Ethics Law.
Tony Bledsoe, Executive Director




The Joint Medicaid Oversight Committee (JMOC) was created by Senate Bill 206 of the 130th Ohio General Assembly. The committee consists of five State Senators and five State Representatives. The primary function of the JMOC is to provide continuing oversight of all facets of the state's Medicaid program. The committee oversees Medicaid compliance with legislative intent, evaluates legislation for long-term impact on Medicaid, and assists in limiting the rate of spending growth, while improving quality of care and health outcomes for individuals enrolled in the state's Medicaid program.
Susan Ackerman, Executive Director




The Legislative Service Commission (LSC) is composed of fourteen legislative members: seven representatives and seven senators. The commission oversees a staff that is responsible for providing members of the General Assembly with impartial and accurate information and reports concerning legislative issues. The staff assists in bill, amendment and resolution drafting; conducts research and prepares reports; compiles budgetary information; verifies studies; and codifies rules of administrative agencies.
Mark Flanders, Director




The State Controlling Board is an oversight panel that allows the state to modify budget appropriations while keeping close tabs on spending. This six-member legislative panel meets approximately every two weeks to review certain state contracts and appropriation levels, transfer money between funds, authorize certain purchases, release capital funds and perform a variety of other tasks involving state and federal disbursements.
Christine Morrison, President





Aging and Long Term Care

      Chair : Steven M. Arndt      Vice Chair : Dorothy Pelanda

Agriculture and Rural Development

      Chair : Brian Hill      Vice Chair : J. Kyle Koehler

Armed Services, Veterans Affairs, and Homeland Security

      Chair : Terry Johnson      Vice Chair : Darrell Kick

Civil Justice

      Chair : Jim Butler      Vice Chair : Laura Lanese

Community and Family Advancement

      Chair : Timothy E. Ginter      Vice Chair : Sarah LaTourette

Criminal Justice

      Chair : Nathan H. Manning      Vice Chair : Jeffery S. Rezabek

Economic Development, Commerce, and Labor

      Chair : Ron Young      Vice Chair : Craig S. Riedel

Education and Career Readiness

      Chair : Andrew Brenner      Vice Chair : Marilyn Slaby

Energy and Natural Resources

      Chair : Al Landis      Vice Chair : Christina Hagan

Federalism and Interstate Relations

      Chair : Kristina Roegner      Vice Chair : John Becker


      Chair : Ryan Smith      Vice Chair : Scott Ryan

            Finance Subcommittee on Agriculture Development and Natural Resources

                        Chair : Andy Thompson

            Finance Subcommittee on Health and Human Services

                        Chair : Mark J. Romanchuk

            Finance Subcommittee on Higher Education

                        Chair : Rick Perales

            Finance Subcommittee on Primary and Secondary Education

                        Chair : Robert R. Cupp

            Finance Subcommittee on State Government and Agency Review

                        Chair : P. Scott Lipps

            Finance Subcommittee on Transportation

                        Chair : Dave Greenspan

Financial Institutions, Housing, and Urban Development

      Chair : Jonathan Dever      Vice Chair : James M. Hoops

Government Accountability and Oversight

      Chair : Louis W. Blessing III      Vice Chair : Bill Reineke


      Chair : Stephen A. Huffman      Vice Chair : Theresa Gavarone

Higher Education and Workforce Development

      Chair : Mike Duffey      Vice Chair : Niraj J. Antani


      Chair : Thomas E. Brinkman, Jr.      Vice Chair : Michael Henne

Public Utilities

      Chair : Robert R. Cupp      Vice Chair : Rick Carfagna

Rules and Reference

      Chair : Clifford A. Rosenberger      Vice Chair : Kirk Schuring

State and Local Government

      Chair : Marlene Anielski      Vice Chair : Stephen D. Hambley

Transportation and Public Safety

      Chair : Doug Green      Vice Chair : Thomas F. Patton

Ways and Means

      Chair : Tim Schaffer      Vice Chair : Gary Scherer

0 Replies to “Ohio Senate Committee Assignments”

Lascia un Commento

L'indirizzo email non verrà pubblicato. I campi obbligatori sono contrassegnati *